Lost Dogs Finally Return Home

Lost Dogs Finally Return Home

Today I stuck to my own advice and took advantage of exercise at home. Jamie and I went into town this morning with a full day planned. He promised me that we would walk and hike together if we updated his footwear. So off we went to get Jamie new sneakers. I got to use scene points I had built up on my debit card. Luckily we ended up with fifty dollars off his new sneakers. Happy man. Happier wife. Now we have no excuses. We stopped at one of our favourite places for lunch and then headed downtown. I love walking downtown. You will probably hear about many adventures walking downtown. It is something I have enjoyed doing for years. I love people watching. I wonder, why are you here? Do you live downtown? Random right? Im just fascinated by this quick paced lifestyle.

We reached a shop called the Newfoundland Weavory and stopped to chat with an old friend. Jeff G is one of our close friends. Jamie worked with his partner Mil for years and we met Jeff ages ago when he joined us all at work.  Jeff and his friend Chris just released a book titled,”Lost Dogs.” It looks like a lovely read and of course I bought one because naturally its a book and any book at all is okay by me. I also wanted to support my friend so anyways I bought a book. After catching up with Jeff we headed for stroll downtown and dodged into a few shops. I was so excited to see the familiar stores again especially those that contain local products. Something made by someone in the area or province means so much more to me than anything else. Buy local, shop local, eat local. After browsing I settled on yet another book. This one gives information about Hiking on the east coast of Newfoundland. Its a great source and I’ve already spent an hour or so browsing through it since coming home today. We have tomorrows plan narrowed down to a couple short hikes in the area, what we actually decide I will let you know.

After leaving the core of downtown we drove and then parked by Quidi Vidi Lake. Here we left and walked the 4km trail around the lake. Now I know what your thinking big deal four kms. However, four kilometers in hot shine, little wind, sore feet, was enough for us. We had a great time and felt a sense of accomplishment when we were finished. We are already planning to walk again tomorrow this time a trail and we felt so good when we were driving home. Next time we may go into the morning when it is not so hot. I hope I can get walks in everyday for the rest of the summer and beyond. Right now I just need to keep motivating myself and my husband who is great company but doesn’t have the same desire I have to be active. Over time I hope he appreciates it all as much as I do. Right now I will be grateful for the company along the way.

My advice today, enjoy every moment and appreciate when you get to live or visit your home. Go and get yourself your favourite treat. Drink your favourite coffee and buy a new book from a local shop. Sit outside and remind yourself why your there. I did that today I sat on the side of the street and thanked my lucky stars that I was finally home. Today I had one of my favourite treats, visited with old friends, was active, smiling, and felt beyond content. You cant get much better than that.

<3J

 

Leave a comment